End Of April Food Favourites

So this week I have had some free time on my hands and there is nothing I love to do the most then making dinner/desserts. Its been a while since I have had time to find and make something new and to be honest, in that time I have recently moved house so trying to find where all my baking equipment has been an effort. Including moving houses, being an Indian, I find it rather boring eating curry and rice and/or chapattis 24/7 therefore tend to opt for different alternatives.

This is week opted to make veggie lasagne that my mum, sister and I love to make now again. As a vegetarian there are different ways to make lasange such as opting for the alternative solution for beef mince for the Quorn mince version, or using different vegetables like carrots, broccoli, peppers and courgettes. However since graduating from uni and moving back home, both my mum and sister dislike the taste and texture of Quorn Mince and therefore used vegetables and at times homemade white sauce. So again I’m going to share my recipe for making my take on vegetarian lasange:

Ingredients – This recipe feed 6 people, increase/decrease on number of people 

  • tin of red kidney beans
  • 1 – 2 courgettes
  • 2 onions (2 small or 1 big onion)
  • 2 carrots
  • broccoli
  • 1/2 red pepper
  • 1/2 green pepper
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 aubergine
  • handful of baby spinach (washed)
  • lasagne red sauce
  • lasagne white sauce
  • few drops of oil
  • egg lasange sheets
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • chilli (optional)
  1. Cut all the vegetables into bite-size chunks. Snapchat-9098996849040066680[1]In a pan,
    warm some oil, and once hot enough, start to fry the onions and garlic.
  2. Once the onions and garlic have softened, add in the broccoli and cover with a lid for a couple of minutes.
  3. Then start to add the courgettes, carrots and peppers and re-cover with the lid to let the vegetables cook but also stirring the pan every so often. To test if the vegetables are cooking, try to cut a broccoli or courgette IMG_20160427_134153[1]and if its easy to cut into half, add the remaining baby spinach and aubergine as they will not take long to cook. Add salt and pepper to you tasting and re-cover with lid for another couple of minutes.
  4. Pour some of the red lasange sauce over the vegetables and mix in well. Also pour some of the red sauce to cover the bottom of the lasange tray. Once covered line with a layer of lasagne sheet
  5. Start to cover the tray with the vegetables, white sauce and lasange sheet, repeating the process until all the vegetables have been used. Top with lasange sheet, white sauce and cover with cheese.

  6.  Bake in the oven at 160 c for 30 minutes. Time and temperature will vary depending on the sauce you are using. Normally I use Dolmio however this time I opted for Ragu which was just as a good.

     

So another thing I made this week was after reading a supermarket magazine. I flicked through the pages as my mum mentioned there was another soup recipe that I could try out. But as I started going through the pages, I came across a recipe for Alfajores. They are Argentinian biscuits sandwiched together with dulce de leche (or caramel). So I thought I’d give it a go with something new. So here’s the recipe if you want to try them yourself! 🙂

Ingredients 

  • 100g softened butter
  • 50g caster sugar
  • 1-2 drop vanilla extract – essence will do as well
  • 2 level tbsp cornflour
  • 150g plain flour
  • 397g can Carnation Cook With Caramel
  1. Preheat the oven to 180c  and line 2 baking trays with baking paper. Mix the butter, caster sugar and vanilla in a bowl with a spoon. IMG_20160428_122815[1]
  2. Add the cornflour and plain flour and mix into a dough with a spoon. Shape into a ball/flat cake with your hands, and wrap in clingflim to chill for 15 minutes.
  3. Unwrap the dough and put on the work surface sandwiched between 2 sheets of clingflim. Roll out the dough to 3mm thick.
  4. Cut out 36 biscuits with a round cutter, re-rolling the dough as needed. Quick note: when I did this, I managed to get 14 biscuits.
  5. Lay the biscuits on the tray allowing space for spreading. Bake in the oven for 10-12 minutes. Leave on the tray for 10 minutes, and then transfer over to a wire wrack to cool
  6. Pipe the caramel onto on biscuit and top with another. Spooning the caramel onto the biscuits will do too.

Snapchat-1677184449308815257[1]

Even though the biscuits didnt really taste any different to me and were just like shortbread biscuits, please do let me know what you think about the biscuits if anyone decides to make them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

